AAI Award: BYU’s Sadie Miner-Van Tassel, Utah’s Cristal Isa among 34 nominees

NCAA women’s gymnastics does not have the Heisman Cup, which is awarded annually to the best player in college football.

What college gymnastics does have, though, is the AAI Award, which has been given over the past 30 years to the nation’s most outstanding gymnast.

On Monday, American Athletic, Inc. The nominees for the 2022 AAI Prize are Sadie Miner Van-Tassell of BYU and Cristal Isa of Utah.

A total of 34 gymnasts were nominated from across the country. The AAI Award is an award for coaches, which is facilitated by the AAI.

Each year, NCAA coaches are required to submit a nomination for a candidate or nominees of their choice (for comparison, the Heisman Award is voted on by the media and previous Heisman Cup winners).

Miner-Van Tassel and Isa have been standout teams this season.

Miner-Van Tassel was the best all-around gymnast in the Mountain Rim Gymnastics Conference, winning the conference’s best gymnast award every week this season, save for one.

Meanwhile, Issa has been a Pac 12 gymnast of the week and a Pac 12 specialist of the week, one of only three Rocks to have a perfect 10 this year.

The previous five AAI winners are Lexi Ramler of Minnesota (2021), Maggie Nichols of Oklahoma (2020), Sarah Finnigan of LSU (2019), Elizabeth Price of Stanford (2018) and Ashley Gantt of LSU (2017).

2022 AAI Candidates

  • Audrey Barber – University of Maryland.
  • Alyssa Bowman – University of Florida.
  • Rachel Bowman – University of Georgia.
  • Alyssa Bonsall – Pennsylvania State University.
  • Maya Bordas – University of California.
  • Rachel Borden – University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.
  • Lauren Bridges – Penn State University.
  • Kayla Bryant – Stanford University.
  • Ariana Castrins – Temple University.
  • Leah Clapper – University of Florida.
  • Catherine Doran – University of Bridgeport.
  • Sammy Durant – Louisiana State University.
  • Nora Flatley – University of California.
  • Derian Goburn – Auburn University.
  • Isabel Joico – Texas Women’s University.
  • Lexi Graber – University of Alabama.
  • Bill Huang – Rutgers University.
  • Crystal Issa – University of Utah.
  • Anna Kazyska – Southeast Missouri State University.
  • Una Lauper – University of Minnesota.
  • Colby Miller – Ohio State University.
  • Olivia Miller – University of Pittsburgh.
  • Emily Mohlenhaupt – Boise State University.
  • Maggie O’Hara – University of Arkansas.
  • Nia Reed – University of Florida.
  • Kinsey Ruby – University of Nebraska.
  • Alexandria Ruiz – University of Denver.
  • Savannah Schoenhair – University of Florida.
  • Megan Skaggs – University of Florida.
  • Trinity Thomas – University of Florida.
  • Olivia Trautman – University of Oklahoma.
  • Sadie Miner van Tassel – Brigham Young University.
  • Drew Watson – Auburn University.
  • Natalie Wojke – University of Michigan.