Long list: 23 Minnesota residents to watch men’s college basketball

Marcus Fuller’s potential team is a Minnesota native who has left the state to play the title role elsewhere

starting from five

Brad Davison, Wisconsin (Maple Grove)

The 22-year-old is returning to his fifth year in college basketball after the NCAA allowed an extra year. His colleagues call Davison “Grandfather.” He ranked fourth on the school’s starting list with a score of 124. He could be one of four Minnesota Badger starters, including Tyler Wahl (Lakeville North), Ben Carlson (East Ridge) and Stephen Kroll (Eastview).

Kerwin Walton, Jl., North Carolina (Hopkins)

Not only did Walton lead North Carolina in three-pointers (58) and three points (42%) last season, but Walton also set the program’s freshman record by three points. He should be one of the key players returning to Tar Heels after making 20 appearances in 2020-21.

David Rudy, PH, Colorado State (BRIC)

Some Gophers fans assumed Rudy would return to Minnesota with former Colorado State assistant Dave Thorson, who joined the crew of new U coach Ben Johnson. But the former Brick star stayed in place to become the favorites to win the Mountain West Player of the Year award after averaging 16 points and nine rebounds when he was a sophomore last season.

Dawson Garcia, P, North Carolina (Prior Lake)

The big 6-11 man tackled the NBA draft process after entering the transfer gate after his freshman season at Marquette. But he wanted to join Walton, a former D1 Minnesota AAU teammate at Chapel Hill. Garcia scored 24 points and 11 rebounds in Marquette’s win over Tar Heel last season.

Chet Holmgren, Gonzaga (Minhaca Academy)

It’s hard to find a player standing 7-1 in recent memory with the variety of skills possessed by Holmgren, an elite shooter with a deadly shooting range. 2021 Star Tribune Metro Player of the Year sits in the same Zags front yard with All-American Drew Timme, but Holmgren’s is on the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Award watch list for best college hub in the country.

next five

Secretary G’s Nest, Rhode Island (Hopkins)

Kendall Brown, G/F, Baylor (East Ridge)

Reese Thompson, Indiana (Armstrong)

Rocky Cruiser, F, North Dakota (Totino Grace)

Theo John, F, Duke (Champlain Park)

Aharon: Trae Berhow, Northern Iowa; Dane Dinga, Baylor; Gabe Kalshore and Robert Jones, Iowa State; Jacob Hutson, Loyola Chicago; Tyler Wahl, Ben Carlson, Stephen Kroll, Wisconsin; Jarius Cook, North Dakota; both are Josh, Utah; Drake Dobbs, Liberty; Simon Wright, Maryland; Will Cheeter, Michigan.